Thinking Garden Thoughts

We got 6 inches of snow yesterday, but all I can think about is our garden this year!  We are lucky that our house has a decent-sized backyard (for our area), so I’m looking forward to growing tomatoes, peas, beans, pumpkins, greens, herbs and whatever ever else catches my fancy.  This year we have 23′ x 9′ to work with, and I’m planning to divide it into 4 smaller beds – 2 – 4′ x 9′ beds and 2 – 2′ x 9′ beds – with 18 inch walkways in between.

Last weekend I started jalapeno pepper (saved from a productive plant last year) and Lacinato kale seeds under grow lights.  I’m waiting a few more weeks to start my tomato seeds because last year they were huge by the time I could plant them in the garden.  I have six varieties of tomatoes that I plan to start from seed this year, including Brandywine and Cherokee Purple which I’ve grown (and saved seeds from) the past several years.

I also have a Southern Highbush Sunshine Blue bare root blueberry plant hanging out in a bucket in the basement until I can plant it at the end of April.  The basement is really too warm for it, and I plan to move it to the shed as soon as the temps warm up a bit.  Since I still regret not digging up the blueberry bushes we planted at our last house six months before we moved, I decided to go with a variety that can be grown in a container.  Once we are some place more permanent I plan to go crazy planting fruit bushes!

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

