Adoption: The Call

This afternoon we received the much anticipated call from our social worker — we’ve been chosen!  It’s a boy!  I am excited but scared.  Overwhelmed.  I have so many thoughts running through my head.  By mid-May we may finally be parents!

As excited as I am, I’m trying to maintain some perspective.  The birth parents could change their minds and decide to parent the child.  I also realize that what is a time of great joy for us is a time of great sorrow for at least two other people.  That’s a difficult thing to come to terms with.

I’ve read some negative things about adoption on the internet lately that made me question whether we are doing the right thing.  However, I truly do believe adoption can be a positive (but not necessarily easy) experience for everyone.  I’m so glad we’ve decided to pursue an open adoption.  The birth parents chose us; we don’t yet know why, but they did.  We will do everything we can to live up to their expectations and to provide the best life possible for their child.

 

This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adoption: The Call

  1. Congratulations! My gosh…that was so fast! My husband and I have been waiting almost a year now with no word. You are so lucky!!

Leave a Reply

