Garden 2012

It’s so exciting to think that spring is almost here.  I can’t wait until the farmer’s market gets started again, and I’m looking forward to giving this gardening thing another shot.  Last year was our first attempt at a real garden.  We learned a lot, and I’m hoping to have more success this year.

This year we plan to plant more but fewer varieties.  I’m going to try to start our Brandywine and San Marzano tomatoes from the seeds I saved from last year’s crop.  Unfortunately, our house doesn’t get much sunlight, so I’m not sure how successful I’ll be starting indoors.  If that doesn’t work, we will buy starts like last year.  I plan to sow sugar snap peas and pole beans directly in the soil since both worked well for us last year.  Also, I want to try my hand at greens.  I just ordered seeds for Bloomsdale Long Standing Spinach, Dwarf Blue Curled Scotch Kale, and Red Salad Bowl Lettuce from Annie’s Heirloom Seeds.  For good measure, I’m sure we will plant some herbs as well.

I can’t wait to get started.  I may even get the tomato seeds going this weekend.

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

