If You Need Something…Just Ask

My mom has everything.  If I need something (a new blender, a card table, etc), I usually ask her before running out to buy something.  With four kids moving in and out over the years, a penchant for shopping at estate sales, and a large basement, my parents have accumulated quite the collection of stuff.

With that said, I did not even occur to me to check with my mom when we were looking for a large glass jar for brewing kombucha.  (As I mentioned, I think our mold problem with our first culture was due to the plastic spout on the glass jar I used.)  J and I kept our eyes open while out and about hoping to find something suitable for a good price, but we didn’t have any luck.  I finally broke down and ordered a jar for $12.99.  I got an email this morning letting me know that the jar has shipped.

We went over to my parent’s house this evening for dinner and to watch the first half of the Super Bowl.  My mom had mixed up a big batch of sweet tea and asked me to pour it into the glasses.  Check out the container she used.

This is exactly what I’ve been looking for – a one gallon glass jar with a wide mouth.  Turns out she has lots of these jars, so she gave me two!  So not only are the jars free, they are re-purposed.  Fantastic!  Should I keep the jar I ordered or send it back?

My new kombucha culture arrived in the mail last week, and I set it to rehydrating Friday evening.  It will take a few weeks for it to be ready to go, but I hope to jump right in with brewing gallon-sized batches.

This entry was posted in Cultures and Ferments, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

