2012 Goals

This post about making broth got me thinking about the new skills I’ve learned in the past year.  In addition to broth, I learned how to break down a fresh chicken, how to make sauerkraut, and I dabbled in cheesemaking.  I’ve also been learning to knit, slowly but surely.  In the past year, I made two sweaters, a hood/scarf combo, a cowl scarf and several hats.

I also tried a few things that didn’t work out as planned, including making kombucha, lacto-fermented pickles and a sourdough starter.  As frustrating as failure is, I need to learn from my mistakes and try again.

So here is my list of homemaking goals for 2012:

  • make a homemade cheese press
  • learn to make cheddar
  • learn to knit socks (started my first sock today!)
  • expand the garden
  • do a better job storing and preserving produce for the winter
  • make a sourdough starter
  • try again with kombucha
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

