Dark Days Challenge – Week 3

My regular grocery store does not carry organic produce, so once the farmer’s market ends in November, I usually buy conventional produce.  The Dark Days Challenge gave me just the push I needed to try some new things.  I purchased local, organic fingerling potatoes, brussels tops and raw milk cheddar from Clarion River Organics, along with my usual creamline milk and pastured eggs.

For my first SOLE meal as part of this challenge, I decided to make a variation of a spanish tortilla for Sunday brunch.  I used fingerling potatoes and steamed brussels tops in the tortilla and served it with a bit of raw milk cheddar and a dollop of homemade sauerkraut (made from local cabbage from the farmer’s market).  The tortilla will also be great to eat cold for breakfasts this week.  In truth, I don’t really care for the cheese.  It’s a bit strong for my taste on its own, but I think it will be fine mixed into a dish.

I love the color of the bright purple fingerlings! They add such pizazz to a basic egg dish.

I had never before heard of brussels tops prior to buying them yesterday, but they are just the leaves that grow at the top of the brussels sprouts plant.  They taste faintly of brussels sprouts and have a texture similar to kale.  I prepared them like I usually do kale, by removing the hard stems, chopping into bite-sized pieces and then steaming for a few minutes until bright green and tender.  I chopped and boiled the potatoes until fork-tender.  I whisked together 5 eggs, the brussels tops, potatoes, salt and pepper and baked at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.

SOLE ingredients:

pastured eggs
organic fingerling potatoes
organic brussels tops
raw milk cheddar
homemade sauerkraut

Non-SOLE ingredients:

salt
pepper
organic butter (for greasing the baking dish)

This entry was posted in Sustainability and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dark Days Challenge – Week 3

  1. Hey! This is really cool – where did the idea for SOLE come from?

  2. Christina says:

    SOLE is sustainable, organic, local and ethical. I don’t know where the term got its start; I only learned about it recently due to the Dark Days Challenge at notdabblinginnormal.wordpress.com. It’s a great concept though!

Leave a Reply

