Kombucha – Success!

Our homemade kombucha is awesome!  It’s a bit sweeter than what we usually buy and is nicely carbonated.

For anyone not in the know, kombucha is essentially fermented sweet tea that is purported to have a number of health benefits.  I think it tastes a bit like carbonated apple cider.  My husband and I both loved it the first time we tried it, but it might be an acquired taste for some.  I’m looking forward to having something other than water to drink, and I hope that hubby will cut down on his pop consumption.

It takes a while to brew but is no more difficult than making a pot of iced tea.  I started with a dehydrated starter culture from Cultures for Health, but you can also order a ready-to-use culture from Kombucha Kamp.  I followed the directions for rehydrating the culture and after a month, we had a baby SCOBY (symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast — sounds yummy, right?) floating on the top of the liquid.

To make our first batch, I boiled 5 c of water and divided it between two quart-sized glass jars.  I dissolved 1/4 c sugar in each jar and then added two tea bags.  Once this mixture cooled to room temperature, I removed the tea bags and added 1/2 c starter tea and one SCOBY to each jar.  I covered the jars with paper coffee filters and put them in a corner.  In 7 days, we will have more ‘bucha.  Easy peasy.

As you can imagine, two very scant quarts of kombucha are not going to last us very long.  We need to get a gallon jar to make our next batch, and I’m very intrigued by the concept of continuous brewing.

 

This entry was posted in Cultures and Ferments, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

