Sauerkraut and Sourdough

This weekend I finally got started on trying some new things.  I guess the fact that it’s a long weekend gave me the extra motivation.

A few weeks ago, I bought a head of cabbage at the farmer’s market, and it’s been rolling around the fridge ever since.  On Thursday I finally chopped it up, and my first batch of homemade sauerkraut is currently fermenting on the counter.  Honestly, I’m not even sure if I like sauerkraut.  It always seems to be served with pork, and I don’t eat pork.  I guess I’ll find out in a few weeks!

Right next to my sauerkraut is a sourdough starter that I put together last night.  I followed the instructions on The Fresh Loaf.  The steps seem pretty foolproof, but, well, you know…  Assuming it all works out, I should be trying my hand at homemade sourdough bread in the next week or two.

I also just ordered a bunch of new cultures, including a kombucha starter.  We’ve been buying a bottle of Red Star kombucha at the farmer’s market each week.  It’s great, but at $3.00 a pop, it’s not economical to drink more.

This entry was posted in Cultures and Ferments, Food, Preservation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sauerkraut and Sourdough

  1. Pingback: Priceless Paintings from W7 » This Week, I’ve Been Mostly Eating…

Leave a Reply

