Improving my diet one step at a time

I’ve been working on cleaning up my diet and incorporating more of the foods recommended by the Weston A. Price foundation, things like fermented/cultured foods, healthy meats and soaked/sprouted grains.  I’ve also been trying to reduce my overall consumption of grains and sugar.  Sometime I get frustrated with myself for not living up to my ideals, and it’s helpful to reflect on all of the positive changes I have made in the past few months.

  1. At home we only eat free-range chicken and grass-fed beef.  That’s a huge change from buying value packs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts at the grocery store!
  2. I make homemade yogurt on a bi-weekly basis and eat it almost every day.  I almost exclusively use low-temp pasteurized, creamline milk in glass bottles.
  3. We buy eggs from pastured chickens at the farmer’s markets.  I eat at least one egg almost every day.
  4. We stock up on fruit when it’s in season and freeze it, so we can eat local fruit year-round.
  5. I regularly make chicken stock.  We have had two boxes of store bought broth sitting in our cabinet for months now.  We haven’t needed it.

I think all of these changes are pretty great!  We still have a ways to go, but I realize that it’s a process.  My lacto-fermented pickles didn’t turn out as planned, but I hope to try again soon.  I also bought some cabbage today to take a shot at traditionally fermented sauerkraut.

This entry was posted in Health, Sustainability and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

